Agenda Item Details

Meeting Nov 20, 2017 - Regular Meeting

Category 5. Action Items - 8 p.m.

Subject 5.02 One Fairfax Policy

Type Action

Recommended Action Adopt the One Fairfax Policy, as detailed in the agenda item

Staff Contact: Francisco Durán, Chief Academic and Equity Officer

Meeting Category: November 20, 2017 – Regular Meeting

Subject: One Fairfax Policy

School Board Action Required: Decision

Key Points:

In July 2016, the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and the Fairfax County School Board jointly adopted the One Fairfax Resolution that directed the development of policies and strategic actions to advance opportunity and achieve racial and social equity in Fairfax County.

In June 2017, a draft One Fairfax Policy was completed and presented at a Joint Boards work session on June 13, 2017. The Successful Children and Youth Policy Team (SCYPT) Executive Committee reviewed the draft policy and individual Board members, paired by district, were briefed on the policy July-September 2017.

The proposed One Fairfax Policy defines expectations for consideration of racial and social equity, and in particular, meaningful community involvement when planning, developing, and implementing policies, practices, and initiatives. It provides a framework to advance equity in alignment with the stated visions and priorities of Fairfax County. The policy is intended to inform all other policies and applies to all publicly delivered services in Fairfax County Government and Fairfax County Public Schools.

Recommendation:

That the School Board adopt the One Fairfax Policy, as detailed in the agenda item.

Attachments: One Fairfax Policy - Final FCPS One Page Business Case

OnePager_OneFairfaxPolicy11-9-2017NB.pdf (1,104 KB)

One Fairfax Policy_Final.11.20.2017.pdf (105 KB)

Motion & Voting

Adopt the One Fairfax Policy, as detailed in the agenda item

Motion by Megan McLaughlin, second by Tamara D Kaufax.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yes: Sandra S Evans, Megan McLaughlin, Dalia Palchik, Ryan McElveen, Karen Corbett Sanders - Vice Chair, Jane K Strauss - Chair, Ilryong Moon,

Patricia Hynes, Tamara D Kaufax, Karen A Keys-Gamarra

Abstain: Elizabeth Schultz